Composition of the MEUSAC Core Group

The Parliamentary Secretary for EU Funds and Social Dialogue, the Hon. Dr Aaron Farrugia - Chairperson
The Minister for European Affairs and Equality, the Hon. Dr Helena Dalli
The Head of MEUSAC, Dr Vanni Xuereb – Moderator & deputy chair
The Principal Permanent Secretary, Mr Mario Cutajar
The Permanent Representative of Malta to the EU, Ambassador Marlene Bonnici (the Deputy PREU, Mr Lorenzo Vella)
The Permanent Secretary (Admin) MEAE, Mr Joe Camilleri
The Permanent Secretary, Ministry for Foreign Affairs and Trade Promotion, Ambassador Fiona Formosa.
The Head of the EU Secretariat, Dr Alex Saliba

The Chairperson of the Foreign and European Affairs Committee (FAEAC) of the House of Representatives, the Hon. Dr Edward Zammit Lewis

Member of the FAEAC nominated by the Opposition, the Hon. Dr Carmelo Mifsud Bonnici (the Hon David Stellini)

The Head of the Labour Party`s delegation to the European Parliament, the Hon. Dr Alfred Sant

The Head of the Nationalist Party`s delegation to the European Parliament, the Hon. David Casa


Member from the following constituted bodies:

Confederation of Malta Trade Unions: Ms Mary Anne Sant Fournier (Mr Arthur Rossi)

Forum Unions Maltin: Mr Chris Attard (Mr Colin Galea)

General Retailers and Traders Union: Mr Paul Abela (Mr Andrew Aquilina)

General Workers’ Union: Mr Kendrick Bondin (Mr Jason Deguara)

Malta Chamber of Commerce, Enterprise and Industry: Mr Andre’ Fenech, Mr Charles A. Zahra (Mr Nigel Mifsud)

Malta Employers’ Association: Ms Maronna Filletti (Mr Joseph Farrugia)

Malta Hotels & Restaurants Association: Mr Tonio Cini (Ms Sarah Abdilla)

UĦM Voice of the Workers: Mr Edwin Balzan (Mr Alan Borg) 


The Chairperson of the MCESD, Mr John Bencini (Executive Secretary, Ms Sylvia Gauci)

2 representatives of the Gozo Regional Committee (MCESD): Mr Joseph Grech, Mr Paul Scicluna

One member chosen by the Maltese delegation to the European Economic and Social Committee, Mr Charles Vella (Group II)

3 members elected by the civil society organisations participating in the MEUSAC consultation processes, Mr Saviour Baldacchino, Mr Michael Piccinino, Mr William Spiteri Bailey

The Head of the Maltese Delegation to the Committee of the Regions of the European Union, Mr Joe Cordina

2 members nominated by the Parliamentary Secretary for Social Dialogue, Mr Alfred Mifsud, Dr Anthia Zammit


Secretary - The Director EU Policy and Legislation (MEUSAC) ex officio


*Names in parenthesis indicate substitutes